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Scrolls
Projection: a player may spend any number of one essence at a rate 

of 3:1 (round down) for Gold (e.g. spend 15 Calm to gain 5 Gold).

Places of Power
The last powers of the Dragon Aerie and Temple of the Abyss do not 

involve turning those places of power, allowing them to potentially be 
used several times during a round.

Temple of the Abyss: its first power straightens all turned demons 
in play (yours and other players’ demons).

Q: When a power’s cost involves discarding an artifact from your 
hand, do you also gain 1 Gold or 2 other essences from it?

A: No (this gain occurs only when doing the discard action).
Q: When a power’s cost involves turning a different artifact, do you 

also activate that artifact’s power(s)?
A: No (you are doing the “use a power” action; turning a different 

artifact is simply part of paying the power’s cost and has no other 
effects).

Q: Can you use a power that adds an essence to a component to put 
an essence on a turned component (such as using the Mermaid to add 
a Gold to the Cursed Forge when it is turned)?

A: Yes.
Q: Can powers that draw and put back cards be used on other 

players’ decks?
A: No.
Q: Must essences used to pay for components and power costs come 

from your essence pool?
A: Yes (unless otherwise indicated, e.g. Athanor’s Elan for its second 

power).
Q: On my turn, can I use a power that will produce no effect (to avoid 

having to pass)?
A: Yes, provided you fully pay the power’s cost.
Q: Can powers that react to a victory check (i.e. Golden Statue or 

Dark Cathedral) react to either a check that occurs in the middle of the 
action step (such as one produced by Coral Castle) or one which occurs 
at the end of a round?

A: Yes.
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Storage
This expansion’s contents can be stored in the base game box by placing 
the 8 scrolls in the tray slot below the Places of Power and adding the 
Places of Power, magic items, and various cards to the appropriate storage 
areas.

Setup

v1.0

In a dark cathedral, a mage harnesses the power of demons 
to enhance her spells. In an alchemical labratory, a diviner 

inscribes a scoll of destruction. Meanwhile, a bard and 
beastmaster seek out the prismatic dragon and golden lion to 
keep the forces of darkness at bay.

Welcome to Lux et Tenebrae™ (light and darkness), the  
first Res Arcana™ expansion. Lux et Tenebrae  expands  

Res Arcana to 5 players, adds a new artifact type 
 – demons – and introduces scrolls: special one use powers 
that can be gained one round and saved for future rounds. 
New mages, magic items, monuments, places of power, 

and artifacts further expand the game.
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Combine the expansion components with the base game components.
Res Arcana now supports 2-5 players, with the number of Places of 

Power and monuments varying with the number of players (see 
below). All magic items are always available.

Shuffle all the monuments together. Deal the number shown above 
to form the initial deck and return any unused monuments to the box 
(without examining them). Then draw 2 monuments and place them 
face up in the center.

Shuffle the Places of Power together, unseen below the table, and set 
out the number shown above, randomly choosing which side of each 
one to use. Return any unused places of power to the box. 

Place the 8 scrolls out in the center.
Perform the rest of setup normally.

Note: the 2-player game is now “tighter” and the 4-player game is now 
“looser” than with the base game rules. We strongly recommend using 
these rules for the best play experience.

Play proceeds normally except as noted below:
Scrolls. Scrolls are claimed from the center using the magic item 

Inscription’s power. Once claimed, a scroll can be saved until its owner 
uses it (via the “use a power” action or, for Shield, its React power). 
After using a scroll’s power, return that scroll to the center (where it 
can be claimed again by Inscription).

Retrieve. The Revivify scroll and the Demonologist’s first power 
allow a player to retrieve any 1 card from their discards, placing it in 
their hand. If a player has no discards, these powers produce no effect.

Setup

Play
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Contents

2 Places of Power
(double-sided)

Mages
Bard: discarding an artifact with multiple types produces only 2, not 

4, Gold (as the types listed are separated by “/”, so only one type can 
be applied).

Artifacts
Infernal Engine: its first power can be used to effectively “hide” some 

essences from Life Loss (by removing them from your essence pool). Its 
second power can be used to shift all essences from one of your 
components (e.g. it or the Windup Man or Vault) to your essence pool 
during the action step of a round.

Possessed Demon Slayer: when using its first power, it does not 
matter if the rival’s Demons are turned or straightened; they all count.

Shadowy Figure: when using its first power, if – after reshuffling –
you have only 1 card in your deck, draw 1 and discard 0 cards.

Vial of Light: its React power applies whether or not the Vial is turned.

Magic Items
Illusion: both of this item’s powers are React powers, allowing it to 

be used with one of your powers. 
Example. A player has claimed the Dragon Lair but has no Dragons 

in play. She may turn the Dragon’s Lair to use its last power, reacting to 
this with the Illusion item and spending two essences to turn it as a 
Dragon, thus paying the power’s listed cost and gaining 2 Gold upon 
the Lair (for 2 VPs).

Example. If you are using the Sorcerer’s Bestiary’s Check Victory power 
and have the Illusion item, you could React and turn the Illusion item 
either as a Creature for +1 VP or, by spending 2 essences, as a Dragon 
for +2 VPs. (You could not do this as a react to another player’s Check 
Victory power or an end of round victory check, as you are not using a 
power at those times.)

The Illusion item isn’t a Creature or Demon itself, so it can’t be 
straightened using the Druid’s or Temple of the Abyss’s powers.
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