 AUTOMA

Designed by Morten Monrad Pedersen & David J. Studley
with Lines J. Hutter & Jan Schrader

Regardless of the number of human players in any game of Charterstone, there are always 6 founding villagers, each
operating a different charter. A charter not controlled by a player is called an inactive charter. If you would like for 1 or more
inactive charters to become active and participate as a player, use these Automa rules.

INITIAL SETUP: Extract cards 377-389 from the Index. These 13 cards make up the Automa deck. This one deck is shared by all

Automas.

Except where explicitly stated in these rules, the Automas never receive resources, coins, or cards, never pay to take actions,

and never receive benefits from buildings.

Setup

Follow the Setup rules in the Chronicle rulebook with the
following adjustments for the Automa:

-

. DETERMINE THE NUMBER OF AUTOMAS: If you choose to include
the Automa system, we recommend using 2 Automas. You
can add or remove Automas throughout the campaign,
but unless a charter is active every game, its final score
will not be relevant at the end of the campaign. You
might decide to have an Automa replace a temporarily
unavailable human player.

~

. PLAYER PIECES: Set up regular workers, influence tokens,
and VP tokens from each Automa’s charter chest.

3. AUTOMA DECK: Shuffle the Automa Deck and place it face-
down next to the board. From Game 4 onwards, set the
top 3 cards off to the side face-down.
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FOR GAME 1: After the Automas construct their starting
buildings, each Automa’s constructed building card is
shuffled into the advancement deck.

Gameplay
An Automa’s turn follows this procedure:

If the Automa has any regular workers (big or small)
available, follow these steps in order (detailed instructions

on pages 2-3):
1. Draw 1 Automa card.
2. Place 1 Automa worker (big or small).
3. The Automa gains VP.
4. The Automa gains benefits (if any).
5. Discard the Automa card.

Otherwise, retrieve ALL of the Automa’s workers from the
board and continue with the next player.

IMPORTANT: Whenever a new rule or story card is added to
the Chronicle, check the Automa Index Guide at the end of
this rulebook to see if any Automa-specific cards have been
unlocked.



DRAW 1 AUTOMA CARD

Using normal player order rules, when it is an Automa’s turn
and the Automa has a regular worker available to place,
reveal the top card of the Automa deck.

If the deck is empty, reshuffle all the cards to form a new
deck. From Game 4 onwards, set the top 3 cards off to the side
face-down.

PLACE 1 AUTONA WORKER

Each Automa card shows either a specific building in the
Commons or prioritized plots in the charters. Place an
Automa worker on that building (if there’s another regular
worker there, bump it off).

BUILDING IN THE COMMONS: Place an Automa worker on the
building shown.

CHARTERS: If the card is like those shown to the right, the
worker is placed on a building in a charter, selected using
the end-of-campaign values specified on the card.

If there is a tie between multiple buildings with the same
value, pick the one with the name that is alphabetically first
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Roll the Charterstone die to select Select Automa’s home charter.

the charter.

The building is selected based upon its end-of campaign value (the number inside a purple circle).

o

o

( A-1 ) or last ( 1-A ) Select highest value building. Select lowest value building.
Other Automa charter cards will choose
the second-highest or the third-highest 0
158 value. Note: if there isn’t a second or
third, simply stop counting and choose a  Example: second-highest
building with that value.
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THE AUTOMA GAINS VP

e |f there’s a VP icon on the card, then the Automa
gains that number of VP.

e If there is a strength icon, the Automa gains VP
equal to the current Automa strength (shown
below). For Game 1 ONLY: Use 1 for the current
Automa strength.

Automa Strength: 2

Remember that the Automa does not gain VP printed on the
building itself.



THE AUTONIA GAINS BENEFITS

Some of the icons on the Automa cards offer benefits to the
Automa as described below. Remember that the Automa
does not get any benefits printed on buildings.

NOTE: Discard means “place in the advancement discard pile,”
not in the Archive. Any rules that reference the “number” of
a card on the advancement mat are referring to the number

on the bottom right of the card.

DISCARD 2 ADVANCEMENT CARDS
Discard the 2 highest numbered cards on
the advancement mat, then refill the mat
with new cards from the deck.

CONSTRUCT A BUILDING

1. Select any empty plot in the Automa’s
charter. If there are none, do nothing.

2. Take the lowest-numbered
unconstructed building card from the
advancement mat and construct it on
the selected plot. If there are no
unconstructed building cards, do nothing.

3. Discard the resulting constructed
building card.
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UNLOCK A CRATE

Unlock the crate on the lowest-numbered
constructed building card on the advancement
mat and follow the instructions on the Index

Guide. If there are no constructed building cards, do nothing.

a. Place persona cards in the Automa’s charter chest.

b. Other cards are added to the discard piles of their
respective decks.

ADVANCE PROGRESS TRACK

Advance the progress token 1 space along
the progress track. The Automa does not gain
reputation from the track, but it may trigger
income for human players.
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GAIN REPUTATION

If the Automa has no influence tokens, do
nothing. Otherwise, place an influence token in
the next open space on the reputation track.

FILL QUOTA

If the Automa has no influence tokens, do
nothing. Otherwise, moving top to bottom
and beginning with the leftmost column, place
an influence token on the first open space. If
the column is full, continue with the top of the
column to its right. The Automa doesn’t gain
any benefit.

&
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End of Game

If the game is part of the campaign, follow the regular end-
game steps as if the Automas were human players. Heed the
following:

* GUIDEPOST: See Guideposts section below for details.

» END-GAME SCORING: Automas only score from the VP track,
reputation track, and guidepost.

* GLORY: Automas gain glory starting with the top row on their

charter chest and moving down as each row is completed.
This is only used for end-of-campaign scoring. The Automa
doesn’t gain ongoing glory benefits.

¢ CAPACITY: Automas gain capacity (like human players).
Assign this starting at the top left circle, moving down that
column, returning to the top of the next column to the right
when complete. Capacity is only used for end-of-campaign
scoring. Unless an Automa is temporarily replacing a human
player, the Automa doesn’t retain any of these components
from game to game.

» AUTOMA STRENGTH: From Game 2 onwards,

- If the average VP of all human players was higher than
that of all Automas, then increase Automa strength by 1.

- If the average VP of all human players was at least 10
points lower than that of all Automas, then decrease the
Automa’s strength by 1 (though never below 2).

Update the strength number in the “The Automa gains
VP” section to reflect this.

* PERSONAS: From Game 2 onwards, randomly choose an
unused persona (if available) from each Automa’s charter
chest, mark it used, and return it to the chest



Other Notes

* OBJECTIVES: Automas do not accomplish objectives.

o SETUP—INACTIVE CHARTERS (REVEALED AFTER GAME 2):
Automa-controlled charters are considered active.
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Guideposts

The Automas compete to achieve guideposts, but not
necessarily based upon their situation on the board, and
purely to gain 1 glory. Even if an Automa should choose a
revealed option on a guidepost, human players will choose
on their behalf. If you prefer, draw an Automa card; the
Automa selects the option matching the king icon on the
card.

At the end of each game during the “Guidepost” step, read
through each step and card one at a time and consult this list
for additional information. Automas participate like regular
players, except where noted.

TRule refers to a Temporary Rule applied during the game.
ﬁ refers to determining who achieved the guidepost.

7??  refers to the revealed part of the guidepost card.

Card# refers to a card number and its resolution.

To minimize spoilers, we have left the descriptions
deliberately vague. Do not read ahead.

¢ GUIDEPOST 400: *Each Automa has 3. Card 124/128 (story
6): Action - Automas gain nothing.

N
¢ GUIDEPOST 401: 74 Each Automa scores none. Remember:
Check Automa Index Guide when new rule and story cards
are unlocked.

¢ GUIDEPOST 402/3: No changes. Remember: Check Automa
Index Guide when new rule and story cards are unlocked.

¢ GUIDEPOST 404: TRule: Automas ignore. Card 134/135 (story
9): Decide for the Automa, but the Automa receives 1 glory,
regardless of the choice.

¢ GUIDEPOST 405: TRule: Automas participate like humans. 222:
Include Automas. Card 136/137 (story 10): Action - Automas
are ineligible to be chosen.

* GUIDEPOST 406: TRule: Include Automas. They pay from
general supply. Card 138/139 (story 11): Automas gain 1 at
random.

* GUIDEPOST 407: ???: Do not include Automa charters.

¢ GUIDEPOST 408: TRule: Also applies to Automas. Card 142
(story 13): If necessary, choose 1 at random.

* GUIDEPOST 409: 7’,{( Each Automa discards 3 before counting.
TRule: Automas participate like humans, including the need
to pay. Card 144 (story 14): Action - including Automas.

* GUIDEPOST 410: il(Automas have 6. TRule: Reroll for
Automas, if necessary. 222: Extract cards 393-398 and give
to respective Automas instead of choice. These are to be
used in game 12 and beyond.

» GUIDEPOST 411: S/A\(Automas have 2. 2??: Extract cards 393-398
and give to respective Automas instead of choice. These
are to be used in game 12 and beyond.

* GUIDEPOST 412/413: *Automas discard 6 before counting.
Remember: Check Automa Index Guide when new rule and
story cards are unlocked.

Automa Index Guide

When you add a new rule or story card to the Chronicle, if
the number of that card is in this guide, extract the card(s)
specified:

Card 29 (rule 18): Extract Card 161.
Card 33 (rule 16): Extract Card 158.

Card 36 (rule 3): Extract Card 160.

Card 129 or 130 (story 7): Extract and add Cards 390-392 to the
Automa deck.

Card 132 (rule 1): Extract Card 159.
Card 157 (rule 26): Extract Card 162.

Automa
Factory



