
Arcane beings transform the arena, intertwining space 
and time, bringing visions of things yet to come. You play 

with the threads of causality itself when you embrace 
the tactics of Etherweave!

Etherweave is a player deck that can be used like any of the player decks in 
the base game. This expansion contains 18 being cards, 17 non-legendary 
pieces, 3 legendary pieces, and a score board for Deathmatch Melee.
Many of the Etherweave beings have warp  effects that travel 
backwards through time. They can be played even before you have 
established the being’s pattern, which makes them very powerful. 
The price for such power is that you must then find some way to 
summon the being or else pay the penalty for leaving loose threads in 
the tapestry of space and time.



Warp Effects

 Upgrade 1 enemy common 
piece. You may then discard 

your pending being.

PARADOX WORM

You may swap one of your 
non-legendary pieces with an 
enemy piece of the same rank.

A warp effect is written in italics and preceded 
by the  symbol. Some Etherweave cards 
have only a normal effect. Some have only a 
warp effect. Some have both.

PLAYING A WARP EFFECT
A being’s warp effect can be played freely on 
your turn, except for your first turn of the game. 
It does not count as an action, and it does not 
require any pattern on the game board. 
A being’s warp effect can be played before or 
after any action on your turn, but not during the 

evaluation of another effect. Take the card from your hand and play it face 
up on top of your deck. Perform the warp effect as written.

PENDING BEING
When you play a warp effect from your hand, that card becomes your 
pending being. You cannot play another warp effect from your hand while 
you have a pending being. 
Your pending being can be summoned in the usual way: Build the pattern, 
announce the summoning, resolve the normal effect (if any), and discard 
the card. Summoning a pending being counts as an action. Once it has 
been summoned, you no longer have a pending being and you are free to 
play another warp effect.
Your pending being is almost like a card in your hand. You can summon it 
like any other being. When you draw cards from your deck at the end of 
turn, count it as one of the 3 you are supposed to have in your hand. (So 
you will end up with only 2 Etherweave cards physically in your hand.)
Your pending being is kept atop your deck to remind you of this rule, but 
it is not in your deck. The top card of your deck is underneath it. When 
checking if your deck is out of cards, do not count the pending being. 
The major differences between your pending being and a card in your 
hand are that your pending being prevents you from playing warp effects 
and you cannot use the discard action to get rid of your pending being. 
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CAUSALITY PENALTY
Bending causality has its price: While you have a pending being, it counts 
as a -2 penalty to your score. In the High Form, for example, if you have 
9 points and a pending being at the end of your turn, you count your score 
as only 7 points and it does not trigger the end of the game.
When playing Deathmatch Melee, the -2 penalty is applied to all colors, 
but do not move the markers on your scoreboard. Instead, just remember 
that you need two extra points to trigger the end of the game. Please note 
the Etherweave score board has two extra spaces for this purpose.
(If you still have a pending being at the end of the game, you can move 
your scoreboard markers at that time, so that your board shows your final 
score.)

New Keywords
Warp effect: An effect preceded by the  symbol.
Pending being: When you play a warp effect from your hand, that card 
becomes your pending being. It remains your pending being until it is 
summoned, or until an effect causes it to be discarded or returned to 
hand.
Copy a warp effect: Perform the effect that is copied. When a normal 
effect copies a warp effect, the copy is not a warp effect. So you can copy 
a warp effect even if you have a pending being.
Swap: The two pieces trade places. Neither is considered destroyed.
Colorless square: A square that is neither red nor green.
Opposite direction: The direction 180 degrees from the first direction.
Linked effect: If it is possible to do all parts of the effect, you must make 
your choices in such a way as to perform all parts of the effect. If this is 
not possible, then no part of the effect is performed.
Example: The Polarity Queen says you must move two pieces in opposite 
directions. Because the effect is linked, you must choose two pieces that 
can be moved in opposite directions and you are not allowed to move the 
first piece in a direction that makes the second piece’s move impossible.

3



	A GAME BY VLAADA CHVÁTIL & DÁVID TURCZI 

Testers: Nate Dorward, Stephen Scothern, Alison Mandible, Juraj Butek, 
Riccardo Fabris, Marcela Chvátilová, Simon Castle, Erin Lee Escobedo, 
Nick Larsen, Vítek Vodička, Lisa Bjornseth, Brian Modreski, Richard 
Cissee, Lior Kiperman, Petr Gašparík, Jan Beran, Jose Gallardo, Vojtěch 
Klan, David Jablonovsky, Vodka, Roneth, Mirek, Elwen, Petr Hnyk, Tomáš 
Dvořák, and others.
Special thanks to: Adam Turczi for getting the deck started, to Riccardo 
Fabris for the countless games, and to Wai-yee for coming up with the 
Etherweave name!
For more details about the game, visit www.tash-kalar.com.
© Czech Games Edition, October 2017. 
www.CzechGames.com

Additional Notes on Certain Cards
Merchant of Time’s warp effect cannot be copied. If it is your pending 
being, an attempt to discard it or return it to hand will have no effect. The 
piece on Merchant of Time does not count as destroyed. It does not count 
as a piece on the board – in particular, do not count it when checking 
flare conditions, and in the High Form, do not count a legendary piece on 
Merchant of Time as 1 point. Furthermore, the piece is not available for a 
summoning or “place” action, not even if there is a piece shortage.
Paradox Worm gives you the chance to discard it when you use its warp 
effect. If you copy the effect, you may discard your pending being, which 
may or may not be Paradox Worm.
Gate of Oblivion normally lets you count one destroyed piece as two 
destroyed pieces. However if you use the warp effect twice (or three 
times) on the same turn, each destroyed piece counts three times (or four 
times).
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