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Fluxx is an easy game to learn because it starts out simple—draw 1,  
play 1—and becomes more complicated little by little. Many folks find 
that the best way to learn is by jumping right into a game, but that usually 
works best if at least one player in the group has played a Fluxx game 
before. So, if this is the first time for everyone, someone in the group 
needs to read these rules. But don’t worry, after you’ve played the game 
a few times, everyone will understand!

BASIC RULES: This is the starting point – the foundation 
on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will be 
superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but this 
card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic Rules 
are: draw 1 card per turn and play 1 card per turn (with no other 
restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

GOAL: To play a Goal place it face up in the center of the 
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins 
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played. The 
Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets these 
conditions, they win! (Even if it’s someone else’s turn!)

NEW RULE: To play a New Rule place it face up near the 
Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play, discard 
the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all players must 
immediately follow the New Rule as required. This will often 
cause the player whose turn it is to draw or play additional 
cards right away, or it may cause other players to immediately 
discard some of their cards.

KEEPER: To play a Keeper take it out of your hand and 
place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals require 
you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a Keeper is 
always a good thing. If a Keeper has a special power, you must 
have the card on the table in front of you in order to make use 
of the power. You must play the Keeper in order to use it.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do 
whatever the card says, then place it on the discard pile. 
Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other 
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may 
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens 
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”

SURPRISE: This type of card can be played at any time, 
even when it isn’t your turn. Note that Surprises have two 
functions, one for during your turn, and one for out-of-turn. 
Surprises can also be used to cancel other Surprises. 

Place the Basic Rules card in the 
center of the table. Shuffle the 
deck and deal three cards to each 
player. Place the remainder of the 
deck face down next to the Basic 
Rules to form a draw pile. At the 
beginning of the game, there will 
be no Goal or New Rule cards in 
play yet.

Fluxx is a game about change, so it’s a game that changes as you  
play it. It begins with just a couple of very simple rules, and becomes 
more complex as additional rules are added via special cards called  
New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one card), and 
adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. Players take turns, 
going clockwise around the table, drawing and playing the indicated 
number of cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.

There is no rule for who gets to 
go first. You decide!

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. If you 
aren’t sure how a card works, try reading the full text aloud as you play it.   

Examples: After drawing 1 card, you play the Draw 4 New Rule. Now 
the rules require you to draw 4 cards on each turn, but since you only 
took 1 card before, you must immediately draw 3 more cards. The 
next player draws 4 cards. He plays the Draw 2 which changes the 
rules again, but he draws no more, having already gotten (at least) 2 
cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 4, the Draw 4 is discarded.

Examples: If you play the Action called Draw 2 and Use ‘em you will 
immediately draw two cards and play them both. If one of those cards 
is Draw 3, Play 2 of Them you’d keep going, drawing three more 
cards, playing two cards and discarding the third. All of this activity 
would be counted as the playing of just one card.

Sample Game 
(in progress)

On Your Turn

Optional actions, allowed by New Rules, Keepers, etc., 
may be performed at any point during this sequence.

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

N
EW

 R
U

LE

N
EW

 R
U

LE

K
EEPER

GOAL

K
EEPER

KEEPER

PLAYER 2

P
L

A
Y

E
R

 3

PLAYER 4

P
L

A
Y

E
R

 1

D
R

AW
 1

PL
AY

 1

BASIC
RULESKEEPER

KEEPER

K
EE

PE
R

K
EE

PE
R

Goals are played to the 
middle of the table.

New Rules are played 
next to the Basic 

Rules in the middle 
of the table.
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Actions are used, then 
immediately discarded 

in the discard pile.

Discard
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Keepers are played 
face-up on the 
table in front of 

each player.
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The game continues until someone meets the 
conditions of the current Goal. That player wins 
instantly, no matter whose turn it is!

The game doesn’t end until 
there is a clear winner. If for  
some reason two or more 
players meet the winning 
conditions simultaneously,  
the game continues until a 
single winner emerges.

New players may join at any 
time by being dealt a hand of 
three cards.

Discarding a card is not the same 
as playing it. When a card is played 
all instructions on that card must 
be followed, if possible. You cannot 
simply discard unwanted cards; you 
can only discard if compelled to by 
a Hand Limit. (Yes, this means you 
could be forced to play a card that 
makes someone else win.)

Regarding Discarding:

CREEPER: Unlike Keepers, which are things you want 
because they help you win, Creepers are undesirable cards 
which often prevent you from winning. Creepers are kept on the 
table in front of you in the same area as your Keepers.

Whereas Keepers stay in your hand until you decide to play them, 
Creepers are played automatically. As soon as you draw a Creeper you 
must place it face up in front of you and draw another card. This does 
NOT count as a “play.” You might have to accept several Creepers at 
once as you draw cards, until you’ve drawn the required number of non-
Creepers and added them to your hand. Note that this is true any time 
you draw a card, such as during an Action.

Example: If you play the Action called Draw 3, Play 2 of Them you 
will start by drawing three cards. If any of those cards are Creepers, 
you would place them in front of you and redraw immediately until 
you have three non-Creepers, then you would choose which two of 
those cards to play. 

Deal three 
cards to 
each 
player.

Start by putting 
the Basic Rules 
card in the middle 
of the table.

Shuffle
the deck.
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How to Begin

If the draw pile runs out, shuffle the discard pile, turn 
it over to make a new draw pile, and keep playing.



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q:  What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there’s already 
a New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New 
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist? 

A: It all depends on contradictions. There’s no limit on the number 
of New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don’t 
interfere with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has 
nothing to do with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. 
However, if both rules are about the same thing, for example how 
many cards to draw, then the new card becomes the rule and the 
old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, 
contradicts the Basic Rules?

A: The New Rule still supersedes the 
Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules card 
does not get discarded. To help to avoid 
confusion, the New Rule can be placed 
to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules 
it replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the rules require me to Play 4 but I only have 2 cards?

A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no 
cards left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the 
rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I 
played two?

A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play one 
more card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: How do I interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, 
I receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be 
played as well, so that I will always end up with zero cards in my 
hand at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?

A: Yes.  

Q: If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to 
discard the first one to play the new one? Is there a limit to the 
number of Keepers I can have in play?

A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, 
unless a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you 
can play as many Keepers as the current rules will allow during your 
turn and only decide which ones to keep and which to  
throw away (so as to comply with the Keeper Limit) when your turn 
is over. 

Q: Suppose there’s a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when 
my turn begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is 
removed and discarded as a result of another New Rule card or 
Action card. Is it still necessary for me to discard down to the limit 
that is no longer in play?

A: Nope! Just as New Rules take effect immediately, their effects 
also cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean “hold the limit number, unless you 
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number”?

A: Yes. It’s not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, 
it’s simply a cap on the number of cards you’re allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a limit rule, do you get to 
choose what to discard, or is it random?

A: You get to choose.

Q: Suppose it’s my turn, and the current Goal says you need two 
Keepers to win, and I have one of them, and someone else has the 
other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?

A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal Something 
Action card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: What happens if there are Creepers in my initial hand of cards?

A: Before the game starts, all players immediately play any 
Creepers they have, drawing again until they have 3 cards in hand.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players 
have no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his 
cards for nothing in return or is the action optional?

A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, 
you’d have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in 
return if everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, “This 
is one of those times when you can get something for nothing.” 
Well, it’s also a time when you might give something away and get 
nothing back! 

Q: Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it’s not  
my turn?

A: When it’s someone else’s turn, there’s not much you get to do – 
unless you have a Surprise (the only type of card you can play out 
of turn). But you will sometimes need to make minor decisions and 
perform card maintenance during other players’ turns. For example, 
if someone plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your 
hand than are allowed, you’ll need to decide what to keep and what 
to discard. 

Q: Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use ‘em and I draw two Goals, 
and one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the two 
Goals in instant succession, with the one that doesn’t make them 
win on top, so that they don’t get to win?

A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone 
to win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in 
play, it counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, 
they win. 

Q: Since you can cancel a Surprise by playing another Surprise, 
can a 3rd (or even 4th) Surprise card be played consecutively?

A: Yes. 

Q: Do I get a replacement play if someone cancels one of my plays 
with a Surprise?

A: No. (Also, it does NOT count as a play to use a Surprise during 
your turn for the out-of-turn action of canceling another Surprise.)

Q: Can I play That’s Mine! out of turn when someone else plays 
Steal a Keeper to allow me to steal the Keeper they are stealing?

A: No. The other player didn’t actually play the Keeper, they played 
an Action which let them take possession of a Keeper. 

Q: The Canceled Plans Surprise card says “All other players must 
discard one Goal/Action, or a random card, from their hands.” Does 
that mean you have a free choice, or must you discard a Goal/
Action if you have one, and a random card only if you don’t?

A: You get to choose whether to discard a Goal/Action of your 
choice, or whether to have someone randomly select a card for you 
to discard.

Q: Can I look at the cards in the discard pile?

A: Yes, anyone can look through the discard pile at any time.

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?

A: Yes! Please visit us at LooneyLabs.com for the latest  
FAQ updates!
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Look for other Looney Labs games at a game store near you:  
http://roster.looneylabs.com
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