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(oVvERVIEW )

Pirate Fluxx is a very easy game to learn because
every card carries its own set of instructions.
Many folks find that the best way to learn is by
jumping right into a game, but that usually
works best if at least one player in the group
has played a Fluxx game before. So, if this is
the first time for everyone, someone in the
group needs to read these rules. But don’t
worry, after you’ve played the game a few
times, everyone will understand!

Place the Basic Rules card in
the center of the table. Shuffle
the deck and deal three cards
to each player. Place the
remainder of the deck face
down next to the Basic Rules
to form a Draw pile. At the
beginning of the game, there
will be no Goal or New Rule
cards in play yet.

How to Begin

BASIC
RULES

Start by putting
the Basic Rules
card in the middle
of the table.

Shuffle
the deck.

(GOING FIRST ) Deal three
cards to

Whoever “calls” it goes first. each

The best way to call it is to player.

just reach out and draw a
card from the deck.

(How TO PLAY )

Fluxx is a game about change, so it's a game that changes as you play it.
It begins with just a couple of very simple rules, and becomes more
complex as additional rules are added via special cards called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one card), and
adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. Players take turns,
going clockwise around the table, drawing and playing the indicated
number of cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.

| On Your Turn: |

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.

3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

Optional actions allowed by New Rules, Keepers, etc
may be performed at any point during this sequence.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. If you aren’t
sure how a card works, try reading the full text aloud as you play it.
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(cARD TYPES )

R
BASIC
RULES

U

BASIC RULES: This is the starting point — the foundation
on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will
be superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but
this card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic
Rules are: Draw 1 card per turn and Play 1 card per turn
(with no other restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).

NEW RULE: To play a New Rule place it face up near
the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play,
discard the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all
players must immediately follow the New Rule as required.
This will often cause the player whose turn it is to draw or
play additional cards right away, or it may cause other
players to immediately discard some of their cards.

*

Examples: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 4” New Rule. Now the rules
require you to Draw 4 cards on each turn, but since you only took 1 card before,
you must immediately draw 3 more cards. The next player draws 4 cards. He plays
the “Draw 2” which changes the rules again, but he draws no more, having already
gotten (at least) 2 cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 4, the Draw 4 is discarded.

GOAL: To play a Goal place it face up in the center of the
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played.
The Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets
these conditions, they win! (Even if it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper take it out of your hand and

V place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals
require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a
Keeper is always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do
whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard Pile.
Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”

Examples: If you play the Action called “Draw 2 and Use ‘em” you will immediately

draw two cards and play them both. If one of those cards is “Draw 3, Play 2 of them”
you'd keep going, drawing three more cards, playing two cards and discarding the

third. All of this activity would be counted as the playing of just one card.

CREEPER: Unlike Keepers, which are things you want
e because they help you win, Creepers are undesirable cards

which often prevent you from winning. Creepers are kept on

the table in front of you in the same area as your Keepers.

Whereas Keepers stay in your hand until you decide to play them,
Creepers are played automatically. As soon as you draw a Creeper
you must place it face up in front of you and draw another card. This
does NOT count as a “play.” You might have to accept more than one
Creeper at once as you draw cards, until you've drawn the required
number of non-Creepers and added them to your hand. Note that this
is true any time you draw a card, such as during an Action.

Example: If you play the Action called “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” you will start by
drawing three cards. If any of those cards are Creepers, you would place them in
front of you and redraw immediately until you have three non-Creepers, then you
would choose which two of those cards to play.

SURPRISE: This type of card can be played at any time,
even when it isn’t your turn. Note that Surprises have two
functions, one for during your turn, and one for out-of-turn.
Surprises can also be used to cancel other surprises.

The game continues until someone meets the conditions of the
current Goal. That player wins instantly, no matter whose turn it is!

Before the first turn, all players look at their starting hand, and if they
have any Creepers, they must immediately lay them down and draw
to replace them until everyone is holding three non-Creepers.

The game doesn’t end Regarding Discarding:
until there is a clear
winner. If for some reason
two or more players meet
the winning conditions
simultaneously, the game
continues until a single
winner emerges.

Discarding a card is not the same as playing
it. When a card is played all instructions on
that card must be followed, if possible. You
cannot simply discard unwanted cards; you
can only discard if compelled to by a Hand
Limit. (Yes, this means you could be forced
to play a card that makes someone else win.)

If the Draw pile runs out, shuffle the Discard pile, turn it over to make a
new Draw pile, and keep playing.

New players may join at any time by being dealt a hand of three cards.



Booty: This icon is used to label items of Treasure. If you
need Booty, any of these will serve: Gold Doubloons,

Ship: This icon is used to denote Ships. If you need a
ship, you can get a Sloop, a Schooner, a Frigate, or a
Galleon. (Note: the Dinghy is not a ship, it’s just a boat.)

( FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS )

Q: What happens if | want to play a New Rule but there's already a
New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?

A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of
New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere
with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do
with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules
are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then
the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.

BASIC

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, RULES

contradicts the Basic Rules?
A: The New Rule still supersedes the [}
Basic Rule, but the Basic Rules card

does not get discarded. To help to avoid

confusion, the New Rule can be placed

to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it

replaces, as shown.
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Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but | only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards
left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play | change the rules
to Play 3. Do | play one more card or am | done because | played 2?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more
card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: How do | interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, |
receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be
played as well, so that | will always end up with zero cards in my hand
at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?

A: Yes.

Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need 2
Keepers to win, and | have one of them, and someone else has the
other Keeper on the table. Can | just grab it from him and win?

A: That would be cheating — unless you play the Steal a Keeper
Action, or the New Rule called Plunder is on the table.

Q: If | play a Keeper, and | already had a Keeper, do | have to discard
the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of
Keepers | can have in play?

A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless
a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you can play as
many Keepers as you want during your turn and only decide which
ones to keep and which ones to throw away (so as to comply with the
Keeper Limit) when your turn is over.

Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my turn
begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is removed
and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action card. Is it still
necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Is there a Creeper Limit? Do Creepers count towards the Keeper Limit?
A: No and No. Creepers aren't limited and do not count as Keepers.

Q: How do you get rid of Creepers?

A: In some versions of Fluxx, this can be rather tricky, but there are
only two Creepers in Pirate Fluxx and they can each be gotten rid of in
several ways. Either can be discarded using the Trash Something
Action; Scurvy is destroyed by Limes or Oranges, plus you can give
it away after you've had it awhile; and Shackles can be discarded for
the cost of a Booty Keeper, unless you are the Captain, in which case
you get to decide who has the Shackles.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean “hold the limit number, unless you
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number”?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's
simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.

Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to
choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Pieces of Eight, Diamonds, Rubies, Emeralds, or Pearls.

Q: Can you use the Trash Something action to discard one of your
own Keepers (or Creepers)?
A: Yes.

Q: Do | get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else’s turn, there's not much you get to do --
unless you have a Surprise (the only type of card you can play out of
turn). But you will sometimes need to make minor decisions or perform
card maintenance during other players’ turns. For example, if someone
plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your hand than are
allowed, you'll need to decide what to keep and what to discard.

Q: If | have zero cards at the start of my turn and then | play the
No-Hand Bonus rule, do | get 3 extra cards, or is that only for the
next player actually starting to play with the No-Hand Bonus rule card
already on the table?

A: It's that second thing you said. Since the rule only applies at the
very beginning of a turn, the person who plays this rule has to wait.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have
no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for
nothing in return or is the action optional?

A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you'd
have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if
everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, "This is one of
those times when you can get something for nothing." Well, it's also a
time when you might give something away and get nothing back!

Q: Suppose | play Draw 2 and Use 'em and | draw two Goals, and
one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can | play the two Goals
in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top,
so that they don't get to win?

A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to
win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it
counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win.

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on
the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.

Q: Is there a penalty for failing to call the
player with the Captain’s Hat by the
proper title of Captain?

A: No. But keep in mind that it might

give that player a reason to make you
Walk the Plank or be given the Shackles.

Q: What happens if everyone’s hand gets so big that there are no
cards left to be drawn?

A: Then you only get to play cards on your turn, until more cards get
discarded. It’s akin to when you have no cards left in your hand but
more plays to make. The problem is easily solved — with a Hand Limit.

Q: Can you combine this game with other versions of Fluxx?

A: Yes! Well, up to a point. The cardbacks are always the same,
making it easy to mix-and-match both individual cards and entire
decks. But the different themes won't always interact very well, and
games may drag on because Goals become harder to accomplish
when the deck becomes too thick to shuffle. But it can still be a lot of
fun, even if there are some bumps in the road. As long as your players
have the right attitude, it should work out fine. Also, if you add some
Fluxx Blanxx (and your own creativity), the fun will become endless!

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit LooneyLabs.com for the latest FAQ updates!

Look for other Looney Labs games at a game store
near you: http://roster.looneylabs.com
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