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If the feature with your ringmaster becomes completed, first score points for 
the completed feature.

Then, for each Circus and Acrobat 
tile that your ringmaster is on or 
adjacent to, score 2 points. You also 
score these ringmaster points  even if 
your ringmaster did not score any 
points from the completed feature 
(e.g., someone else had majority). 
The Big Top and acrobats in a 
pyramid do not affect ringmaster 
points. After scoring, return the 
ringmaster to your supply.

Game end
At the end of the game, ringmasters 
in fields or on incomplete features 
score ringmaster points.

3. Scoring a feature

Under the Big Top
A copy of CARCASSONNE is required to play this expansion.  

You can integrate this entire expansion into the game,  
or only parts of it if you choose. You can also combine  

this expansion with any other CARCASSONNE expansions.

CONTENTS

• 20 Land tiles (marked with , to help you separate and sort your tiles)
 including:  
12 Circus tiles with one circus space each 

   8 Acrobat tiles with two acrobat spaces each 

• 16 Animal tokens:  

1x Elephant  , 2x Tiger  ,  3x Bear  , 5x Seal  ,  

4x Monkey  , 1x Flea    

• 1 Big Top 

• 6 Ringmasters 

SETUP

Shuffle the 20 new Land tiles with those from the base game (and any other 
expansions you wish to use). Shuffle the 16 Animal tokens and place them in a 
facedown stack within easy reach of all players. Place the Big Top near the stack 
of Animal tokens. Finally, players add the ringmaster in their 
color to their supply of meeples.
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RULES FOR USING THIS EXPANSION WITH OTHER EXPANSIONS

CIRCUS TILES, ANIMAL TOKENS, and THE BIG TOP
When scoring a circus, these figures score points: 

• Normal meeple • Abbot (Base Game) •Large meeple (Exp. 1) 
• Wagon (Exp. 5) • Mayor (Exp. 5) •Ringmaster (Exp. 10) 

When scoring a circus, these figures DO NOT score points: 
• Builder (Exp. 2) • Pig (Exp. 2) 
• Barn (Exp. 5) • Shepherd (Exp. 9)

Exp. 8:  You can build a bridge on a Circus tile (with or without the Big Top) 
following the normal rules. 
If at least one tile forming a castle is adjacent to the Big Top, a meeple in 
that castle will score points when a circus is scored. 

ACROBAT TILES and ACROBATS
General: Only normal meeples can be part of a meeple pyramid. Neither the large 
meeple (Exp. 1) nor any other figures are allowed.
Exp. 3:  You may assign the fairy to an acrobat, in which case it counts for all acrobats 

in the pyramid (regardless of color). If the fairy is still there at the beginning 
of your turn, you score 1 point for each of your meeples in the pyramid.  
You can use a magic portal to place one of your meeples on an acrobat 
space/pyramid.

Exp. 4:  If you capture an acrobat with the tower, you can choose any meeple in the 
pyramid (regardless of its position). 

Exp. 8:  You can build a bridge on an Acrobat tile only if no acrobats are on it, 
and you cannot place an acrobat on an Acrobat tile with a bridge on it.  
A meeple pyramid in a castle’s fief does not count as a “feature” that can 
cause a castle to score. 

RINGMASTER
General: The ringmaster counts as a normal meeple. He has the same uses as a 
normal meeple in all expansions.
Exp. 4:  You can place your ringmaster on a tower (even if it will be a little wobbly). 
Exp. 5:  If you use your ringmaster as a farmer, you score his ringmaster points in all 

cases (during final scoring, after a barn is placed in the ringmaster’s field, 
or after the ringmaster’s field is connected to a barn). 

CIRCUS TILES, ANIMAL TOKENS, AND THE BIG TOP

Back

You can place your ringmaster (instead of a meeple) on a road, in a city or 
a monastery, or lay him down in a field. The ringmaster counts as a normal 
meeple in all cases except that it cannot be used as an acrobat.

2. Placing a meeple

THE RINGMASTER

Circus tiles are placed like normal Land tiles.

Special case: When the first Circus tile is placed, take the top Animal token 
from the stack, place it facedown on the circus space, and place the Big Top on 
it. From this point on, the Big Top moves only when a player places a new 
Circus tile (after 3. Scoring a feature).

1. Placing a tile

You complete 
the road that 
your ringmaster is on.  
First, you score 5 points for the road.  
Then you score 8 points for the 4 Circus 
and Acrobat tiles (2 points each) 
for a total of 13 points. 
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When there are three acrobats in a pyramid, 
it is ready to be scored. However, pyramids 
are not scored immediately after 
completion because the acrobats wish to 
display their skills for a little while. 

Instead of placing a meeple or any other 
figure during 2. Placing a meeple, you 
can score a completed pyramid. Each 
acrobat in the completed pyramid scores 
its owner 5 points and then returns to 
its supply.

Additional rules:
•  After a pyramid has been scored, players 

can start a new pyramid on the same tile 
by placing a meeple as an acrobat on it. 

• You can score a completed pyramid even if you have no acrobats in it.

Game end
During final scoring, each of your acrobats scores 5 points, regardless of the 
pyramid’s size.

Note on acrobat spaces
Acrobat spaces close roads and separate fields from each other.

3. Scoring a feature

After placing an Acrobat tile, you can place your meeple on the road or in the 
field, as usual.

You also have another option: you can 
place your meeple as an acrobat on 
one of the two acrobat spaces. 

On a later turn, if you place a tile 
adjacent to one or more Acrobat tiles 
(horizontally, vertically, or diagonally), 
you may place a meeple as an 
acrobat on one of those Acrobat tiles.

2. Placing a meeple as an acrobat

If the two acrobat spaces are already 
occupied, you can add a third 
meeple on the shoulders of the 
other two meeples. At that point, 
the pyramid is complete, and no 
more meeples can be added to it.

The color of the meeples in the 
pyramid does not matter. Pyramids 
can have meeples of one, two, or 
three colors.

If you place an Acrobat tile adjacent to one or more Acrobat tiles and you wish 
to place a meeple as an acrobat, choose on which of those Acrobat tiles to place 
your acrobat. 

ACROBAT TILES

Important: When scoring the circus, meeples that score points are not 
returned to their owner’s supply. Instead, they stay on their tile.

3) After scoring the 
circus, remove the 
Animal token from the 
game by placing it 
faceup next to the 
scoreboard. Finally, take 
the top Animal token 
from the stack, place it 
facedown on the new 
circus space, and place 
the Big Top on it.

Game end
At the end of the game before final scoring, 
score the circus one last time.

Note on circus spaces
Circus spaces close roads and separate fields from each other.

Whenever you place another Circus tile during the game:

1) Score any features that were  
completed when the Circus tile 
was placed.

2) Then score the circus on the 
Big Top’s current tile:

First reveal the Animal token on 
which the Big Top stands. Then, 
for each of your meeples on the 
Circus tile itself and the eight 
surrounding tiles, score points 
equal to the value on the revealed 
Animal token.

Note: Ringmasters also count as 
meeples so, if they occupied a 
space surrounding the Big Top 
when scoring the circus, they 
would score points.

3. Scoring a feature

1) You place 
this new Circus tile, 
which completes 
Blue’s road. 
Blue scores 3 points 
and takes  
her meeple back. 

2) You reveal the 
Animal token. 
The seal is worth 
4 points per meeple. 
Since you have three meeples on tiles 
surrounding the Big Top, you score 12 points.  
Blue’s one meeple scores 4 points.

3) Put a new Animal 
token facedown on 
the circus space of the 
new Circus tile and 
stand the Big Top 
on the token. 

1) You place this 
Acrobat tile and place 
your meeple on one of 
the two acrobat spaces.

3) Later in the 
game, you place 
a tile diagonally 
adjacent to an 
Acrobat tile and 
you complete 
the pyramid by 
placing a 
meeple on top.

On a later turn, you do not place 
a meeple and instead choose to 
score this pyramid.  
You score 10 points.  
Blue scores 5 points.    

2) Blue 
places this tile 
and places a 
meeple next 
to yours. 

Acrobat tiles are placed like normal Land tiles.
1. Placing a tile

After placing a Circus tile, you can place a meeple on it as a highwayman, 
a knight, or a farmer as usual. However, you cannot place a meeple on the 
circus space.

2. Placing a meeple

You place the first Circus tile and place a 
meeple on the road. Then you put a 
facedown Animal token on the circus space 
and place the Big Top on the token. 


