
Place the Basic Rules card in 
the center of the table. Shuffle 
the deck and deal three cards 
to each player.  Place the 
remainder of the deck face 
down next to the Basic Rules 
to form a Draw pile.  (At the 
beginning of the game, there 
will be no Goal or New Rule 
cards in play yet.)

On Your Turn:

HOW  to  PLAY

OVERVIEW

SETUP

1) Draw the number of cards currently required.
2) Play the number of cards currently required.
3) Discard down to the current Hand Limit (if any).
4) Comply with the current Keeper Limit (if any).

CARD TYPES

The game doesn’t end 
until there is a clear 
winner. If for some reason 
two or more players meet 
the winning conditions 
simultaneously, the game 
continues until a single 
winner emerges.

If the Draw pile runs out, shuffle the Discard pile, turn it over to make 
a new Draw pile, and keep playing.

New players may join at any time by being dealt a hand of three cards.

HOW TO WIN

Regarding Discarding:
Discarding a card is not the same as playing 
it. When a card is played all instructions on 
that card must be followed, if possible. You 
cannot simply discard unwanted cards; you 
can only discard if compelled to by a Hand 
Limit. (Yes, this means you could be forced 
to play a card that makes someone else win.)  

The game continues until someone meets the conditions of the 
current Goal.  That player wins instantly, no matter whose turn it is!

Stoner Fluxx is an easy game to learn because every card 
carries its own instructions. Many people find that the best way 
to learn is by jumping right into a game, but that usually works 
best if at least one player in the group has played a Fluxx 
game before. So, if this is the first time for everyone, someone 
in the group needs to read these rules. But don’t worry, after 
you’ve played the game a few times, everyone will understand!
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Deal three 
cards to 
each 
player.

How to Begin

Start by putting 
the Basic Rules 
card in the middle 
of the table.

Shuffle
the deck.

GOING FIRST

Whoever “calls” it goes first. 
The best way to call it is to 
just reach out and draw a 
card from the deck.
  

Fluxx games are about change, so this game will change as you play it. 
It begins with just a couple of very simple rules, and becomes more 
complex as additional rules are added via special cards called New Rules.

Start by following the Basic Rules (draw one card & play one card), and 
adapt to all additional New Rules as they are played. Players take turns, 
going clockwise around the table, drawing and playing the indicated 
number of cards until someone meets the current Goal condition.
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BASIC RULES: This is the starting point – the foundation 
on which the rest of the game is built. These initial rules will 
be superseded by New Rules during the course of play, but 
this card should remain on the table at all times. The Basic 
Rules are: Draw 1 card per turn and Play 1 card per turn 
(with no other restrictions such as Hand or Keeper Limits).
NEW RULE: To play a New Rule, place it face up near   
the Basic Rules. If it contradicts a New Rule already in play, 
discard the old rule. New Rules take effect instantly, so all 
players must immediately follow the New Rule as required. 
This will often cause the player whose turn it is to draw or 
play additional cards right away, or it may cause other 
players to immediately discard some of their cards.

GOAL: To play a Goal, place it face up in the center of the 
table, discarding the previous Goal (if any). The game begins 
with no Goal in play, so no one can win until one is played. 
The Goal applies to everyone; as soon as someone meets 
these conditions, they win! (Even if it’s someone else’s turn!)

KEEPER: To play a Keeper, take it out of your hand and 
place it on the table in front of you, face up. Most Goals 
require you to have a particular pair of Keepers, so playing a 
Keeper is always a good thing.

ACTION: Actions are used once and discarded. Just do 
whatever the card says, then place it on the Discard Pile. 
Actions can sometimes cause major chaos, and yet at other 
times, have no effect at all. Note that while some Actions may 
cause additional cards to be played, everything that happens 
as a result of an Action card is considered part of one “play.”

Example: After drawing 1 card, you play the “Draw 4” New Rule. Now the rules 
require you to Draw 4 cards on each turn, but since you only took 1 card before, 
you must immediately draw 3 more cards. The next player draws 4 cards. He plays 
the “Draw 2” which changes the rules again, but he draws no more, having already 
gotten (at least) 2 cards. Since Draw 2 contradicts Draw 4, the Draw 4 is discarded.

Example: If you play the Action called “Draw 2 and Use ‘em” you will immediately 
draw two cards and play them both. If one of those cards is “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” 
you’d keep going, drawing three more cards, playing two cards and discarding the 
third. All of this activity would be counted as the playing of just one card.

When playing a card, you may choose any card in your hand. If you aren’t 
sure how a card works, try reading the full text aloud as you play it.   

NOTES

CREEPER: Unlike Keepers, which are things you want 
because they help you win, Creepers are undesirable cards 
which often prevent you from winning. Creepers are kept on 
the table in front of you in the same area as your Keepers. 

Whereas Keepers stay in your hand until you decide to play them, 
Creepers are played automatically. As soon as you draw a Creeper 
you must place it face up in front of you and draw another card. This 
does NOT count as a “play.” You might have to accept several 
Creepers at once as you draw cards, until you've drawn the required 
number of non-Creepers and added them to your hand. Note that this 
is true any time you draw a card, such as during an Action.

Before the first turn, all players look at their starting hand, and if they 
have any Creepers, they must immediately lay them down and draw 
to replace them until everyone is holding three non-Creepers.

Example: If you play the Action called “Draw 3, Play 2 of them” you will start by 
drawing three cards. If any of those cards are Creepers, you would place them in 
front of you and redraw immediately until you have three non-Creepers, then you 
would choose which two of those cards to play. 

Actions are 
used, then 
placed in the 
discard pile.
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Discard
Pile

(face up)
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New Rules 
are played 
next to the 
Basic Rules 
in the middle
of the table.

Goals are played 
to the middle of 
the table.

When you
play a Keeper, 
it is placed on 

the table in 
front of you.

Sample
Game in
Progress

Creepers go
next to your 
Keepers.C
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Optional actions allowed by New Rules, Creepers, etc
may be performed at any point during this sequence.
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Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to 
choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.

Q: Can you use the "Trash Something" action to discard one of your 
own Keepers (or Creepers)?
A: Yes.
�
Q: If someone plays the Double Agenda rule card, which permits two 
goals, does the next card played need to be a Goal?
A: No. There's no hurry about adding a second Goal just because the 
rules allow it. 

Q: What happens if there are two Goals in play and someone gets rid 
of the Double Agenda rule?
A: The player who caused the Rule to go away gets to choose which 
Goal to discard and which one to keep in play.

Q: Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to do -- 
there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes 
need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during 
other players' turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and 
you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you'll need to 
decide what to keep and what to discard. 

Q: If I have zero cards at the start of my turn and then I play the 
No-Hand Bonus rule, do I get 3 extra cards, or is that only for the next 
player actually starting to play with the No-Hand Bonus rule card 
already on the table?�
A: It's that second thing you said. Since the rule only applies at the 
very beginning of a turn, the person who plays this rule has to wait.

Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have 
no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for 
nothing in return or is the action optional?
A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you'd 
have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if 
everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, "This is one of 
those times when you can get something for nothing." Well, it's also a 
time when you give something away and get nothing back! 

Q: Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use 'em and I draw two Goals, and 
one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the two Goals 
in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top, 
so that they don't get to win?
A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to 
win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it 
counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win. 

Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on 
the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper. 

Q: Can you combine this game with other versions of Fluxx?
A: Yes, but it can be tricky now that Fluxx is available in so many 
flavors (like Zombie Fluxx, Martian Fluxx, and Monty Python Fluxx). 
The cardbacks are always the same, suggesting that different versions 
can all be combined; but matching backsides doesn't always mean the 
fronts will play nicely together. Some Rules may contradict each other 
without saying so, and certain Goal cards may become impossible or 
nonsensical. Rather than making a deck too big to shuffle, we suggest 
adding just a few of your favorite cards from one version to another. 
Also available are Fluxx Blanxx, which you can use to add in your 
own ideas, including new connections between cards from different 
editions. So be creative, have fun, and don't forget to playtest!

Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit Fully-Baked-Ideas.com for the latest FAQ updates!
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Q: What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there's already a 
New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New 
Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist? 
A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of 
New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere 
with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do 
with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules 
are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then 
the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.

Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, 
contradicts the Basic Rules?
A: The New Rule still supersedes the 
Basic Rule, but the Basic Rules card 
does not get discarded. To help to avoid 
confusion, the New Rule can be placed 
to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it 
replaces, as shown.

Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but I only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards 
left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.

Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the 
rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I 
played 2?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more 
card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.

Q: How do I interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, I 
receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be 
played as well, so that I will always end up with zero cards in my hand 
at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?
A: Yes. 

Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need 2 
Keepers to win, and I have one of them, and someone else has the 
other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?
A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal Something 
Action card which allows you to do exactly that.

Q: If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to discard 
the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of 
Keepers I can have in play?
A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless 
a Keeper Limit rule is played. Even then, you can play as many 
Keepers as you want during your turn and only decide which ones to 
keep and which ones to throw away (so as to comply with the Keeper 
Limit) when your turn is over. 

Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my turn 
begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is removed 
and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action card. Is it still 
necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also 
cease the moment the rule disappears.

Q: Is there a Creeper Limit? Do Creepers count towards the Keeper 
Limit?
A: No and No. Creepers aren't limited and do not count as Keepers.

Q: How do you get rid of Creepers?
A: In some versions of Fluxx, this can be rather tricky, but the Creepers 
in Stoner Fluxx are pretty easy to dispose of. Just read the fine print 
on the cards to find out under what conditions you’ll be able to either 
discard a Creeper or move it to another player.

Q: Does a Hand Limit mean "hold the limit number, unless you 
already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number"?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's 
simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

www.Fully-Baked-Ideas.com

Whose
turn
 is it?

Stoner Fluxx includes an extra card 
intended to help folks who are, shall 
we say, distracted, with keeping track 
of whose turn it is. Using this card is 
optional, but if you decide to, make 
sure everyone remembers to slide the 
card over to the next player at the 
end of each turn. Also, whoever has 
the card also automatically goes first!

THE “IT’S MY TURN!” CARD


